For starters.

It’s a cold night even though it’s not raining. I’m sitting with my laptop on, my mind full of words to be typed and also the scrumptious dinner I had with my family approximately three hours ago.

For anyone who knows how much I adore writing, they would understand exactly why I decided to start a blog. This blog is way overdue considering the fact that 2015 was a hustle-bustled year and I was both physically and mentally exhausted. Fortunately, I had finished high school a month ago after the head invigilator instructed us SPM candidates to stop answering our last Biology paper. Ever since then, I’ve been occupying myself with books and repetitive movie marathons.

Speaking of 2015, it is definitely one of my favourite years. I’d like to call it a year of my own salvation. I learnt a lot and I grew a lot. I can’t help thinking that if I met the person I was during my first year of high school, she would not be recognisable (of course! My face! My old glasses!) Frankly, it’s enough of an achievement for me. (my ‘glow-up’ed face! And my new glasses!) I learnt about self-worth, which is one of the most important things in life. I learnt about defending your decisions and that it’s okay to refuse to meet people’s expectations. I learnt that just because you have never talked to somebody before, it doesn’t necessarily mean that he/she couldn’t be a beautiful chapter in your life; whether it’s a short or long one. I learnt to cherish my time spent with the people I love. I learnt that a short conversation is all it takes to make you fall for someone you’ve just met. I learnt that failed endeavours mean you’re learning to be better. I learnt not to give other people the authority to determine my happiness. I learnt about family – and my family is everything that I could ever ask for. And the best part of it all; 2015 marks the year I started to accept myself, though I am still in the process of doing so.

It’s 2016 and I’m not going for the cliche ‘new year, new me, new beginnings’. I am still going to be myself – only happier and kinder to everyone. Apart from that, I do hope that I’ll acquire excellent result in SPM, along with my friends whom I know have all shed tears yet never backed down at giving their best. And yes, it’s the year we all turn 18 and go to college. Exciting yet terrifying.

Then again, what is life without a little bit of both?

Happy New Year and may 2016 bring you everything you dream for.

 

 

Leave a Reply

